About Hitkarini Sabha


The “Jabalpur Hitkarini Sabha” was started by noted illuminaries way back in 1868 with the aspiration of benevolence and philanthropy in this educationally backward region of Mahakoshal in the era of national awakening after the mutiny of 1857. 


Raj Balwant Rao Kher, Diwan Biharilal Khajanchi, Shri Ambika Charan Banerjee came together to start Hitkarini Sabha, which meant an association of do-gooders for selfless service. The organization started with the aim of serving the society to overcome the social problems and render their help to solve public issues. 


The records of proceedings of meetings are available from Dec. 1869. From 1870, the educational activities started as it dawned upon them that educating the masses will automatically bring about change in the social environment. They started with primary schools and later on institutions of higher education and Law College.


“Hitkarini Sabha” is a well reputed society and always had the patronage of highest dignitaries in various fields from its very inception. This college has the history of being in close association with famous freedom fighters of India like Mahatma Gandhi, Pattabhi Sita Rammayya, Dr. Rajendra Prasad, Pandit Motilal Nehru and Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru, etc. One of the pioneering trustees of Hitkarini Sabha, Seth Govind Das is very well known parliamentarian, writer, politician and a great nationalist of his time. Even to this day, the family is represented by Babu Chandramohan Das and now the fourth generation, Babu Vishwamohan Das is extending the same patronage to this ever growing society.


The progressive minded leaders with their great vision and concerted efforts have developed Hitkarini sabha to be the leading management organization running many professional colleges including the first Dental College and Hospital in Jabalpur and Engineering College, Law College and Nursing college as well as several English and Hindi medium schools apart from the colleges of higher education in Mahakoshal region of Madhya Pradesh.

© 2006 Hitkarini Sabha Disclaimer Powered By: RiG-CMS.Design Best viewed with IE6/FF1 at 1024x768px